Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘menu’

Last week was pretty leftover heavy, but that was OK because I ♥ leftovers! I’m excited about this week because my husband and I are going to stretch ourselves a little in the kitchen and attempt to make baked potato soup with bread bowls. I’ll make the soup, he’ll make the bowls (using his favorite book, Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day). I’m combining various aspects of three different recipes for the soup, so hopefully it turns out!

Onto meal planning…

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 3/30/09

Hamburger Casserole

Tuesday 3/31/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 4/1/09

Baked Potato Soup with bread bowls (NEW)

Thursday 4/2/09

Leftovers

Friday 4/3/09

Leftovers

Saturday 4/4/09

BBQ Pork Ribs (slow cooker) with fried parmesan potatoes, green beans, and cornbread

Sunday 4/5/09

Leftovers

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

The meals I prepared last week were very tasty and it was quite the treat to be able to use $2.99/lb beef tenderloin in my Oaxacan tacos…yum! On Wednesday I sat down and planned my next month of meals and I can safely stay that I’m going to stick to the month (instead of week) plan—it’s much more efficient.

Spring is in the air here in northern Wisconsin. My snowdrops are popping up and soon will bloom. And you what that means? Gardening is right around the corner! In fact this past week I planted basil, bell peppers, and Thai peppers under grow lights in my basement.

This week we’re going to be a little busier than usual, so leftovers will be the name of the game for the most part. I love leftovers! Onto meal planning…

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 3/23/09

Leftovers

Tuesday 3/24/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 3/25/09

Grilled chicken and mozzarella panini’s

Thursday 3/26/09

Peanut Butter Noodles (NEW)

Friday 3/27/09

Leftovers

Saturday 3/28/09

Leftovers

Sunday 3/29/09

Leftovers (freezer)

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

This past week I took it easy on cooking meals, falling back on some old favorites. It was a nice break and I got to spend my extra time doing other things related to cooking, like defrosting my freezer.  It helped that we had subzero temperatures to work with, although I can say I’m quite ready for spring.

I also was able to take advantage of some grocery store sales and buy lots of red bell peppers ($1.98 / lb) and a whole beef tenderloin ($2.99 / lb). I first chopped up all the peppers, bagged, and froze them (I’m not allowed to buy peppers for a while now…I have a big supply!). Then I prepared the tenderloin into individual steaks, vacuum sealing them in pairs to freeze for later. Did I mention I love steak? Finally, it was time again to replenish my supply of prepared frozen cheese. Overall it was a productive week and we are now well stocked!

I’ve very excited about my meals this week. I’m getting hungry just thinking about them!

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 3/16/09

Oaxacan Tacos (NEW) and fresh pineapple

Tuesday 3/17/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 3/18/09

Lumpia (egg rolls) and fried rice

Thursday 3/19/09

Leftovers

Friday 3/20/09

Leftovers

Saturday 3/21/09

Chicken Parmesan, with pasta, green beans, and garlic bread

Sunday 3/22/09

Leftovers

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

Well, this past week had its ups and downs in terms of meals. On the one hand, my slow cooker pot roast recipe was excellent and I talked about it in more detail for Friday’s Mission: Appliances post. On the other hand, the tilapia recipe didn’t go over as well. It wasn’t really the fault of the recipe. We just think that my husband is allergic to tilapia. And I’ll leave it at that. 🙂

This week I’m excited to fall back on a few old favorites. I’m not going to try any new recipes to give myself a little break. On to the meal plan!

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 3/9/09

Sage Butter Linguine with Bell Peppers

Tuesday 3/10/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 3/11/09

Sesame Chicken

Thursday 3/12/09

Leftovers

Friday 3/13/09

Weekend away

Saturday 3/14/09

Weekend away

Sunday 3/15/09

Leftovers

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

Well, it’s now March which is a very exciting prospect for those of us dealing with generally long winters.  Around this time of year I begin to get very antsy for Spring.  So on Friday I had the opportunity to spend an afternoon taking pictures at our local greenhouse.  Many of you know that I’m a photographer and my camera unfortunately gets a little dusty during the winter months!  I thought I’d share a taste of what I photographed with you: a lovely spring tulip. 🙂

Sneak Peek

Back to the topic of meal planning, I really enjoyed our tomato soup last week. Good soup can be a real treat on cold winter days, especially when you can use tomatoes from last summer’s garden harvest…yum! And my husband, the resourceful fellow he is, even made homemade flat bread with sesame seeds for us to enjoy with the soup. Thanks honey!

The pork chop recipe from allrecipes.com was tasty and will be transferred to the permanent recipe binder. Now I just need to stay on top of that binder and keep it up-to-date! Having an organized recipe binder is one thing, while keeping it updated is quite another. But that’s a topic for another day. On to meal planning for this week!

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 3/2/09

Mustard Crusted Tilapia, noodles, and green beans (NEW)

Tuesday 3/3/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 3/4/09

Slow Cooker Pot Roast with garlic smashed potatoes and corn (NEW)

Thursday 3/5/09

Leftovers

Friday 3/6/09

Leftovers

Saturday 2/28/09

Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

Sunday 3/8/09

Leftovers

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

Good morning! The meals I prepared this past week weren’t particularly elaborate because we were pretty busy. Nonetheless, I still managed to use five appliances! I guess that means that my series, Mission: Appliances, is off to a great start.

I forgot to mention last week that I made a significant change to my meal planning approach—I’ve begun to plan meals monthly instead of weekly. Obviously I’m only on my first month, but I like it already! It takes more time to sit down and actually plan one month of meals, but then I can go between meal planning for a whole month! That’s definitely my favorite aspect of this new approach.

Looking at this upcoming week of meals makes me hungry…yum! I can’t wait.

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 2/23/09

Leftovers

Tuesday 2/24/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 2/25/09

Spicy Tomato Soup (using frozen tomatoes from last summer’s garden!) and homemade bread

Thursday 2/26/09

Leftovers

Friday 2/27/09

Italian Breaded Pork Chops (NEW), wild rice, and green beans

Saturday 2/28/09

Leftovers

Sunday 3/1/09

Hamburger Casserole

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

Good morning fellow meal-planners. I’m in a great mood because looking back at this past week, I can say with excitement that we had marvelous meals!

My two new recipes, Pico de Gallo Chicken Quesadillas and Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce, were both excellent. I made a few minor alterations that I’ll note here in case anyone is interested. With the quesadillas, I added red bell peppers and mushrooms, and as I mentioned in my Mission: Appliances post from Friday, I grilled them instead of frying them in oil in a skillet. For the penne, I use white wine instead of vodka and mild ground Italian sausage instead of links of sweet Italian sausage. Both recipes are going into the permanent recipe file!

This week will be a little hectic for us so I’m not planning as many complicated meals. Nevertheless, I’ve still got a few interesting things up my sleeve.

meal-plan-mondays

Monday 2/16/09

Black Bean Fried Rice (Invention)

Tuesday 2/17/09

Leftovers

Wednesday 2/18/09

Leftovers

Thursday 2/19/09

Dinner at in-laws

Friday 2/20/09

Dinner at a restaurant

Saturday 2/21/09

Ziti with Italian Sausage (bake), with green beans and garlic bread

Sunday 2/22/09

Leftovers

* * * * * *

I posted my weekly menu to the I’m an Organizing Junkie blog, so be sure to check it out and participate if you’d like!

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »